Monday, August 22, 2011

Vampire hunters, Sith lords, and a Supernatural Society... all found @ your library

Star Wars Fate of the Jedi #7: Conviction by Aaron Allston

Library Journal

The exiled Luke Skywalker, his Jedi son, Ben, and Sith apprentice Vestara Khai continue their precarious alliance as they track down the Force-wielding entity known as Abeloth, convinced it is responsible for the attacks of madness affecting Jedi throughout the galaxy. On the planet Coruscant, Leia and Han Solo concentrate on the political and tactical problems affecting the discredited Jedi Order, following paths that lead them to the seat of the Republic's power. The seventh installment in the nine-volume "Fate of the Jedi" series (and the first in a "mini-trilogy" that rounds out the series) takes the action into the heart of the Republic as a Jedi knight is tried for murder and expands the story to the hostile planet Klatooine as it becomes the staging ground for a long-awaited confrontation that could decide the fate of those whose destinies rely on the Force. VERDICT One of three authors (along with Christie Golden and Troy Denning) contributing to the latest series in the popular and growing opus of Star Wars® novels, Allston (Outcast; Backlash) remains true to the spirit of the characters, combining wry humor and passionate conviction with splendidly depicted action scenes.




Hit List by Laurell K. Hamilton

Publishers Weekly

As punchy as her first foray, Anita Blake's 20th adventure (after 2010's Bullet) finds the intrepid vampire hunter far from her familiar St. Louis environs. Someone is slaughtering weretigers just outside of Tacoma. When Anita recognizes the handiwork of the Harlequin, ninja-like paranormal assassins, she suspects they're in the employ of the Mother of All Darkness, the legendary vampire queen who wants to reincarnate herself in Anita's body and take advantage of her mingled vampire and lycanthrope bloodlines. Complicating matters are a marshal who detests Anita for no apparent reason and a psychopathic deputy who wants to kill her. The action occasionally bogs down in the sexual trysts Anita indulges in to stoke her supernatural abilities, but for the most part, Hamilton goes back to basics and delivers a sleek, hard-boiled page-turner.



Hard Bitten by Chloe Neill

From Publisher -

"Neill creates a strong-minded, sharp-witted heroine who will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse series and Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake." -Library Journal

Times are hard for newly minted vampire Merit. Ever since shapeshifters announced their presence to the world, humans have been rallying against supernaturals-and they're camping outside of Cadogan House with protest signs that could turn to pitchforks at any moment. Inside its doors, things between Merit and her Master, green-eyed heartbreaker Ethan Sullivan are...tense. But then the mayor of Chicago calls Merit and Ethan to a clandestine meeting and tells them about a violent vamp attack that has left three women missing. His message is simple: get your House in order. Or else.

Merit needs to get to the bottom of this crime, but it doesn't help that she can't tell who's on her side. So she secretly calls in a favor from someone who's tall, dark, and part of underground vamp group that may have some deep intel on the attack. Merit soon finds herself in the heady, dark heart of Chicago's supernatural society-a world full of vampires who seem ready to fulfill the protesting human's worst fears, and a place where she'll learn that you can't be a vampire without getting a little blood on your hands...




No comments:

Archive

Find in a library

Search for an item in libraries near you: