Friday, October 14, 2011

More great bestsellers are found on our shelves @ your library

Leaving by Karen Kingsbury

Publishers Weekly

Characters from Kingsbury's Baxter family epic recur in the first of a new series about young actress Bailey Flanigan. Bailey, who has appeared in a film of Unlocked (a real novel by Kingsbury) and is awaiting a callback about her Broadway audition, has a problem: Hollywood hottie Brandon Paul, reformed bad boy and film co-star, is after her; star NFL rookie Matt Keagan is another potential interest. But Bailey really loves Cody Coleman, the regular-guy Iraq war veteran who abruptly left her. Ex-POW Cody is teaching and coaching at a rural high school, visiting his druggie mom in jail, and trying to forget Bailey, whom he left out of fear of his mother's unsavory connections. A parallel story involves firefighter Landon Blake, whose ground zero experience is affecting his health. Fans won't mind the self-promotional reference to Kingsbury's previous book as they enjoy the treacly confection of Hollywood and heroes the popular novelist offers.






10th Anniversary by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro

Library Journal
Gone, baby, gone. Patterson's tenth novel in the Women's Murder Club (WMC) series (after The 9th Judgment) opens with a missing baby. Sgt. Lindsay Boxer is assigned a case that leaves her little time to enjoy her new marriage. A nearly naked teenage girl, bleeding and incoherent, is found stumbling out of the woods by passing motorists. Hospital tests reveal that she had recently given birth. So where is the baby? Meanwhile, Boxer's friend, attorney Yuki Castellano, is prosecuting the case of a doctor accused of murdering her husband. But did she really do it? Castellano is unhappy when Boxer starts questioning the foundations of her case. Another friend, crime reporter Cindy Thomas, might have gotten herself in too deep when she starts investigating a local rapist. VERDICT Patterson and coauthor Paetro spin a fast-paced triple mystery that expertly weaves the stories together. It is the distinct yet complementary personalities of the WMC members that make the story's heart beat. Highly recommended for series fans as well as readers who enjoy David Baldacci, Patricia Cornwell, and John Grisham.—Susan O. Moritz, Montgomery Cty. P.L.s., MD




Summer Rental by Mary Kay Andrews

Library Journal

Andrews (The Fixer-Upper) is at her warm and funny best with this story of three girlfriends who rent a beach cottage on North Carolina's Outer Banks. A month of fun, frolicking, romance, and self-discovery ensues, while the arrival of a fourth roommate ratchets up the drama. Andrews simply excels at creating the kind of characters readers can relate to, and she has a fabulous sense of humor to boot. For all women's fiction fans, especially those who enjoy ensemble fiction.


No comments:

Archive

Find in a library

Search for an item in libraries near you: